Sale!

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

$26.00 (as of January 17, 2018, 20:57) & FREE Shipping. Details $13.97

Usually ships in 24 hours

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . In keeping with a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four more youthful siblings reside a mystical life aboard their circle of relatives’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But if their father will have to rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—till strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that may be acquainted and thrown into a Tennessee Youngsters’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss Youngsters are assured that they are going to soon be returned to their folks—however they temporarily notice the dark fact. On the mercy of the power’s cruel director, Rill fights to stay her sisters and brother in combination in a global of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford turns out to have it all: a a hit career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding at the horizon. But if Avery returns home to lend a hand her father weather a health crisis, a possibility encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey thru her circle of relatives’s long-hidden history, on a trail to be able to in the end lead either to devastation or to redemption.

In keeping with one among The us’s such a lot notorious real-life scandals—by which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-primarily based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor Youngsters to rich families in every single place the rustic—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and in the end uplifting tale reminds us how, although the trails we take can result in many places, the guts never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Praise for Before We Were Yours

“A [story] of a circle of relatives lost and located . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”People

“Certain to be one of the compelling books you pick out up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll in finding yourself pulled along as she unearths the wake of terror and heartache that may be Georgia Tann’s legacy.”Parade

“One of the most year’s absolute best books . . . It’s unimaginable to not get swept up on this close to-best novel.”The Huffington Post

“Lisa Wingate takes a virtually unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of tolerating power.”—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling creator of Circling the Sun

Frequently Bought Together

Price for all: $42.17

Additional information

Author

Binding

Brand

EAN

EAN List

Edition

ISBN

Item Dimensions

Label

Languages

Manufacturer

MPN

Number Of Items

NumberOfPages

Package Quantity

Part Number

Product Group

PublicationDate

Publisher

ReleaseDate

Studio

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Before We Were Yours: A Novel”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *